C.S. Lewis Society of Madison.
C.S.Lewis Society of Madison.
C.S.Lewis Society of Madison.
C.S. Lewis Society of Madison.
C.S.Lewis Society of Madison.

Theology & Philosopy of C.S. Lewis

The Problem of Pain
The Problem of Pain is a 1940 book by C. S. Lewis, in which he seeks to provide an intellectual Christian response to questions about suffering. The book is a theodicy, an attempt by one Christian layman to reconcile orthodox Christian belief in a just, loving and omnipotent God with the fact that people suffer, and is not intended to provide comfort to those actually suffering.

The Weight of Glory
(1941) Preached originally as a sermon in the Church of St Mary the Virgin, Oxford, on June 8, 1942: published in THEOLOGY, November, 1941, and by the S.P.C.K, 1942.

A Preface to Paradise Lost

The Abolition of Man
A 1943 book by C. S. Lewis. It is subtitled "Reflections on education with special reference to the teaching of English in the upper forms of schools," and uses that as a starting point for a defense of objective value and natural law, and a warning of the consequences of doing away with or "debunking" those things. It defends science as something worth pursuing but criticizes using it to debunk values - the value of science itself being among them - or defining it to exclude such values.

Beyond Personality
(1945) From the original 1944 BBC Broadcasts.

Miracles is a book written by C. S. Lewis, originally published in 1947 and revised in 1960. Lewis makes a case for the reality of miracles by presenting the position that something more than nature, a benevolent creator likely to intervene in reality after creation, exists. In a chapter on "Natural Laws", Lewis addresses the issue of whether miracles are incompatible with natural law or science. He argues that rather than being mutually exclusive, miracles are definite interventions that go beyond natural laws. Miracles are consistent with nature, but beyond natural law, they are caused by a benevolent being.

Mere Christianity
(1952) A theological book by C. S. Lewis, adapted from a series of BBC radio talks made between 1941 and 1944, while Lewis was at Oxford during World War II. Considered a classic of Christian apologetics, the transcripts of the broadcasts originally appeared in print as three separate pamphlets: The Case for Christianity (1942), Christian Behaviour (1942), and Beyond Personality (1944).

Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life
(1955) Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life is a partial autobiography published by C. S. Lewis in 1955. Specifically the book describes the author's conversion to Christianity which had taken place 24 years earlier.

Reflections on the Psalms

The World's Last Night: And Other Essays
A collection of essays by C. S. Lewis published in the United States in 1960. The title essay is about the Second Coming of Jesus Christ. The volume also contains a follow-up to his The Screwtape Letters in the form of "Screwtape Proposes a Toast."

The Four Loves
(1960) The Four Loves is a book by C. S. Lewis which explores the nature of love from a Christian perspective through thought experiments and examples from dogs. The content of the examination is prefaced by Lewis' admission that he initially mistook St. John's words "God is Love" for a simple inroad to his topic.

They Asked for a Paper: Papers and Addresses
(1962) This collection of twelve essays. It was Lewis's last work to be published, as he died on 22 November the following year

Letters to Malcolm: Chiefly on Prayer
(1964) Posthumously published in 1964, the book takes the form of a series of letters to a fictional friend, "Malcolm", in which Lewis meditates on prayer as an intimate dialogue between man and God.

Christian Reflections
(1967) Essays and papers.

God in the Dock: Essays on Theology and Ethics
(1970) God in the Dock is a collection of essays and speeches from C. S. Lewis. Its title implies "God on Trial" and is based on an analogy made by Lewis suggesting that modern human beings, rather than seeing themselves as standing before God in judgment, prefer to place God on trial while acting as his judge.

Present Concerns
(1986) Essays.

All My Road Before Me: The Diary of C. S. Lewis 1922 - 27

Compelling Reason: Essays on Ethics and Theology
(1998) Written variously between 1940 and 1962, this collection of essays represents the best of Lewis's considerable wisdom on the great ethical and theological concerns of the day.


Puddleglum's foot blog by James Knight.

Follow us on:

C.S.Lewis Society of Madison Facebook Page.
C.S.Lewis Society of Madison.
Non-Fiction of C.S. Lewis.
C.S.Lewis Society of Madison.
Home  |  About  |  Membership  |  Works of C.S. Lewis  |  Programs  |  Contact
C.S.Lewis Society of Madison.

© 2011 C.S.Lewis Society of Madison - All Rights Reserved - Madison, Wisconsin

All logos and trademarks or registered trademarks used in this website are respective trademarks of their owners.   Photo of C.S. Lewis used by permission of The Marion E. Wade Center, Wheaton College, Wheaton, IL.

Tag words: C.S. Lewis, cslewis, c s lewis, madison, wisconsin.